Getting Creative (where you can)

At the beginning of your career, it’s rare to fine a job that will satisfy all of your professional aspirations. Instead of getting frustrated and bowing out of your dream career path, find ways to spin your current position to be more favorable to your desired resume.

I love the creative marketing world. However, it seems to be the part of the marketing world that is most difficult to penetrate immediately after graduation. You have to prove yourself with content and professional experience, which is difficult with a typical office job.

That’s why I decided to mix it up. Here’s what I did:

1. Joined the philanthropic organization within my company. It changes up the day-to-day, gives me experience with corporate philanthropy, is an outlet for creativity and in-house networking.

2.  Took charge. I wanted Social Media experience, so I asked for it. Literally. Utilizing the social outlets for works gives me experience I need, even though it isn’t my main priority at work.

3. Created a presentation to my boss to show him where I am in my career path. It helped him see not only where I want to go, but where I am now. What I have accomplished. What I still have to work on. He appreciated the self-awareness and I felt relief in having my voice heard.

My job is by no means meant to be a creative position, but I’m not letting that stop me. It’s professional experience and I’m determined to make it count toward what I want to do.

Can you manipulate your current position to pave the way to your dream job? I bet you can!

 

5 thoughts on “Getting Creative (where you can)

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I continue to be truly and honestly impressed by what you do and how you go about it.

  2. That’s awesome that you just asked if you can work with social media and they just said yes. The presentation is interesting to me, I never would have thought of that. Did you just set up a meeting with your boss asking to talk about your progress or how did that all work out?

    • My boss and I have weekly 1-on-1 meetings to catch up and discuss any opportunities on our program. I told him ahead of time that I had a quick presentation for him. Once we were in the meeting, I just started the conversation. He was really happy to talk about it, and the presentation helped me stay on track and not get flustered (it’s always awkward talking about yourself!). 🙂

Leave a Reply

