Go with the Flow

I recently went on a business trip, and I felt awesome about being included. At that point, I finally felt recognized as a professional.

I was also terrified.

I was the youngest one attending, and I knew that there was pressure to represent myself properly. I stressed about the trip for weeks. Once it happened, though,  I realized that I had really over-thought the whole thing. I just needed to read the crowd.

In my mind, I was going to be obligated to be on point and super professional the whole time. I hadn’t thought about how laid back and awesome the people in my company are. Given, not all companies are are casual as this one. They should be, but they aren’t.

My personal moral to the story is that I need to read the crowd that I’m with. Unnecessary stress can make a good thing go sour really quickly. I need to learn how to “go with the flow.”

flight

Napa Valley; winery.

Napa Valley; winery.

2 thoughts on “Go with the Flow

  1. I’m glad you bring up how we stress too much over things. Going with the flow is a great practice to adapt for all parts of our life, but especially at work. I think a lot of twentysomethings would agree with me when I say we worry a lot about making an impression and on the criticism we receive. I think go with the flow at work would involve doing our best work but not for the approval of others and taking criticism as advice.

    Also, I love the thumb photo 😉

  2. Exactly! I was concerned because I was the youngest, most junior employee attending. Nobody cared! Sometimes, in my head, I emphasize the “young” in “young professional” too much, and assume more experienced professionals will see me as inferior. Some people might, but those people are just rude. 🙂

    And thank you! Hehe!

Leave a Reply

