Working While Going to School

I worked all throughout college. These job experiences definitely helped me deal with the post-graduate job hunt.

Because some sort of work experience is required for an entry-level position, having some sort of work experience on your resume after getting your degree is essential. Given, I know that working while going to school full time is not manageable for everyone. At some points, I was working two part time jobs while going to school full time. I don’t know how I did it. Nevertheless, the sense of accomplishment that I got from being successful in both areas was great. And each work experience gave me more bullet points and references for my potential interviews.

What do you think? Do you recommend college students to work while going to school?

3 thoughts on “Working While Going to School

  1. I worked while in college too. I have been a lifeguard since I was 16. Now this isn’t something I put on all my resumes, but sometimes it applies. Someone once said to me that if they saw I worked since I was 16 and I worked for a company for 7 years, they would be more likely to hire me. She said it showed I would be dedicated to my company and did not just waste away my free time. For whatever reason if you can’t work I think its important to be involved with your school through a club or organization. I use most of my leadership positions on my resume under my management experience. Even internships are a great choice!

    • I completely agree about being active within your school! Anything that adds to your experience on your resume! I started working overnight right after my 18th birthday (when it was legal for me to work overnight). I don’t go that far back on my resume for efficiency’s sake, but it definitely adds to my experience. Being a life guard sounds much more fun, though! 🙂

      • Being a lifeguard was fun! I doubt I’ll be doing it again any time soon, unless I really need a part time job again. But overnight sounds really hard and exhausting.

Leave a Reply

