Curve Balls

Life doesn’t stop when things start to go well. Having a wonderful thing in your life doesn’t inhibit the inconsistencies of life. I’m just thankful that I have those wonderful things to balance out the proverbial curve balls thrown by life.

Last May, I graduated from college, got engaged to my best friend, and got a new job. All of these things were fantastic. I also moved in with my fiancé, and recently, we got a puppy! What a happy life!

If I had been able to take a break and just enjoy what I’d been lucky to have, life would be too good. Instead, debt happened; a car crash happened; planning happened. All of these things are just inconvenience in the grand scheme of things. Nevertheless, they put a serious damper on the happiest time in my life.

When the curve balls come a-flyin’ in my direction, I have to take a step back. I find it necessary to evaluate (some may say over-evaluate) how everything is going to affect me in the long run. My fiancé and I have steady jobs to pay off debt; a car is a thing that can be replaced; and, the plans will be made.

Life doesn’t have to be perpetually happy to be good, and it doesn’t have to be perpetually good to be meaningful. Sometimes I have to force myself to remember that!

2 thoughts on “Curve Balls

Leave a Reply

