Work/ Life Balance.. or Not

Work/life balance is a great idea. My company feels very strongly on the importance of a proper balance between your work life and your personal life. I appreciate this. As a newly engaged gal with a puppy at home, I definitely want to be able to leave the office in the evenings and not worry about my job until the next morning.

To-Do lists at work.

To-Do lists at work.

Unfortunately, my work/life balance at home usually involves responding to work emails while talking to my fiancé and playing with my puppy. It’s bad. I’ve tried to stop. I try not checking my emails at home, but I get alerts on my phone, so they’re hard to ignore. I’m a young professional who is just starting out in the corporate world. I don’t want people to think that I’m slacking off just because business hours are over. Technically, that is when I could slack off, but I’m just not that kind of person.

Trying to separate the two “lives” creates an awkward feeling of having multiple personalities, or actually leading separate lives. You must create enough time for both, or they might become suspicious and angry at your lack of devotion.

There is an art to getting work and personal lives completely balanced. When I am home, I’m thinking about work, but when I’m at work, I’m thinking about home. I’m hoping that I’ll perfect this balancing act with time, but I won’t hold my breath. I know many mid-to-senior level employees at my company that seem to continue to struggle in this area.

Luckily for me, I have a lenient boss and an understanding fiancé. Nevertheless, I will carry on fighting to attain some sort of stability between my work and personal lives.

Zach and Sirius watching TV

Zach and Sirius watching TV

Leave a Reply

