Internship

Going immediately from school to an internship was one of the best decisions I will ever make.

At first, I was hesitant. On my first day as an intern, I noticed that I was the only one in the internship program that had already graduated from school (I would later learn that this was advantageous), and I learned that the company with whom I’d be doing the internship just got acquired.

I was excited about this sleek, new marketing internship. I was put on a team with a multi-million dollar client. They put me in operations. This confused me at first, because I had expected a much flashier role. After all, it was marketing! Turns out, marketing isn’t always flashy. Also, it wouldn’t exist with our people in operations.

I had started my internship directly after returning home from New York. Although I had just gotten engaged (yay!) the trip had not gone how I had hoped (no full-time job). I was discouraged a little, being the only graduate out of the bunch of interns. I wasn’t the oldest, but being graduated made me feel like I was behind. Should I have done this while I was in school? Does this make me look like a failure?

Nope.

During the first few weeks of my internship, my performance was low. After talking to my manager, I realized that low performance was the worst reaction that I could be having to post-graduate blues. We made a list of things I should improve on, and I got busy. We had weekly meetings. He taught me everything that I should know in order to be a more desirable candidate for a post-internship full-time job. And it worked.

As the only college graduate, I was the company’s only option for full-time work out of the internship group. I applied for every position possible, and ended up scoring a job on my current team. If it hadn’t been for the summer internship, I probably would not have the job that I do now. I wouldn’t be getting so much experience. I wouldn’t have had such great networking opportunities!

After graduating, I recommend taking on an internship or apprenticeship. It teaches you what college can’t. Also, it gave be a buffer between school and the “real world.” I met amazing people and made great memories. Along with working on our designated teams, we worked on an international (U.S.A. and Canada) presentation together.  

Watch our awesome video here

Leave a Reply

