Crazy, Stupid Love

ZET2

Zach and Me

The first time that Zach and I hung out as more than friends was a hot mess. We had planned a Disney movie marathon. We watched the first movie awkwardly, sitting more than a foot away from each other. I don’t really remember the second movie (I may have been nervously drinking wine).

I began rambling about how cute I thought he was, and I don’t remember much else. I was informed later that we had our first kiss that night. The next day, I threw up on his carpet and crawled into the fetal position on this bathroom floor. He fed me crackers and water and told me that we were just “making memories.” I had alcohol poisoning for the next three days. It was ridiculous.

On the fourth day after my over-indulgent alcoholism, we had our first “real” date. We went to see Appleseed Cast at a cool club in Dallas.

He wanted to spend more time with me, even though our most intimate moment had been him holding back my hair as I desecrated his carpet.

We spent the rest of our time together being happy and sober. We got to know each other so well. Finally, we decided to become “official.”

Two years later, he proposed. TO ME!

After my graduation from UNT in May, we took a trip to NYC. I had some interviews lined up (I’ll post about that…experience… later), and we had some touristy things planned. He had been to New York previously, but I had not.

Zach and me in NYC

Zach and me in NYC

On one of our last days, when I had (unsuccessfully) finished my interviews, Zach suggested that we have a nice meal. On the way, we stopped at Washington Square Park, on of Zach’s favorite spots.

There was a band of Buddhist monks playing Hari Krishna, the sun was setting, and I was taking so many pictures! Then, Zach turned to me and said how much he loved me and that he wanted to spend the rest of his life with me. I replied, “Samsies!” and continued to take pictures. He said, “Wait!” and turned me toward him as he got down on one knee and pulled out a little box.

nyc

Washington Square Park

Well, of course I said “YES!” You know, after crying and forgetting to speak for a while. We hugged, kissed, and high-fived. We had dinner at the Roebling Tea Room in Brooklyn.

It was magic.

Leave a Reply

